Top Navigation

2018 APPMA Scholarship winner announced in front of global packaging community

2018 Scholarship winner Nathan Leong, accepting his award from APPMA Chairman, Mark Dingley

The winner of the 2018 APPMA Scholarship was announced in front of 500 people during a gala awards dinner for the global packaging community at the Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise, Queensland. The gala dinner was a joint event between the 2018 PIDA Awards and the international WorldStar Packaging Awards with 30 countries in attendance on the evening.


The 2018 APPMA Scholarship winner is Nathan Leong MAIP, Packaging/Product Technologist, Primo Smallgoods.

Holding a Bachelor of Applied Science Degree (Major in Food Science & Nutrition), Nathan Leong currently works in the food industry in Product and Research Development Roles. He understands that after twelve years in the food industry packaging design/development plays a pivotal role in the success of product protection, shelf life and marketing. Having this packaging knowledge in future will provide a diverse technical knowledge to add value in his current business in both areas of product and packaging. Nathan has always been curious about various types of corrugates used for sporting cards and its primary and secondary encased packaging formats. He has been fascinated by the progression in food packaging from tetra packs, reclosable films and creation of packaging through 3D printing. Nathan hopes that someday he might be fortunate enough to be a part of packaging design that may benefit the world in some way.


The APPMA, in conjunction with the AIP, have been running the annual scholarship program for ten years now giving a packaging technologist, designer or engineer in Australia, the opportunity to complete a Diploma in Packaging Technology to the value of over $9000. The APPMA have generously sponsored this educational scholarship for over a decade and are the largest supporter of furthering education in the wider industry. Please join with the APPMA in congratulating Nathan Leong on his scholarship.